My freelance medical writing and editing work in 2012

2012 was a good year! I signed with more new clients than in any year since I went freelance. These included individuals, small medcomms agencies, large multinational agencies, a publisher and, for the first time, an advertising agency. I also continued to work with existing clients – some that I have worked with for a number of years. This also brought a huge variety of work, which I always appreciate.

In contrast to 2011, most of the work that I did in 2012 was on a freelance basis, interspersed with three short contracts. My contacts with new clients were made through a variety of channels: recruitment agencies, LinkedIn, EMWA, my website and a new initiative, the Freelance Workbook. Most of these were in the UK, but I worked with new clients in France and Germany too.

Medical writing

By comparison with previous years, very little of the writing that I did in 2012 was on primary research papers.  Instead, from a writing viewpoint, 2012 was about PR and training. I wrote a number of articles (on biologics and HIV care) for business-to-business magazines, which felt a bit like coming home for me, and which I was particularly pleased to do. Among the training programmes I was involved with were three interactive courses for iPad and/or the web for healthcare professionals , two slide-based courses, and two more traditional booklets aimed at sales and marketing teams. HCPs were also the target for some web copy, a couple of drug monographs and a short series of adverts.

A new target audience for me in 2012 was payers. Demonstrating cost-effectiveness is an important part of bringing drugs to market and the challenge for me was to provide an engaging summary of the therapy area and technology concerned for readers who may not have a medical background, before going on to summarise the health economics data in a fairly short brochure. It’s been challenging, but it’s been absolutely fascinating too.

In terms of therapy areas, 2012 was primarily about diabetes (types 1 and 2), cardiovascular disease, eczema and rheumatoid arthritis. I wrote about Alzheimer’s disease for the first time, did a little bit more work on rare diseases – this time patient leaflets for the parents of babies with rare skin diseases – and revisited vaccines for the first time in a while.

Editing and proofreading

I did more editing and proofreading work in 2012 than I’ve done in recent years. As usual I’ve had a steady throughput of papers requiring editing for English – either from doctors that I work with directly or via med comms agencies – but I did a lot of slide deck edits too. Most excitingly, I have been taken on as a freelance copy editor for a quarterly magazine sponsored by one of the big medical device companies and as a freelance proofreader for a quarterly ophthalmology newsletter produced by the London School of Tropical Hygiene for HCPs and patients in emerging markets. In terms of editing and proofreading, medical devices in their various guises provided quite a lot of my work in 2012.

Away from the keyboard

As in other years, I made sure to get out of my office and attend a few workshops and conferences. This helps to ensure that I keep abreast of changes in the pharma and medcomms industries, and enables me to find out about other things that are going on in the world that might prove useful  in my work. This year these included conferences on changes in the way that pharma delivers continuing medical education to doctors (InPharm), the growing influence of patients in healthcare management and treatment strategies (MedComms Networking), how to use Twitter in business (Digital Surrey) and the use of mobile technology to improve policing in the community (Digital Surrey). The Publication Plan’s annual publication planning workshop proved a great opportunity to learn about how open access publishing is evolving, what it can offer our clients and its customers and to get up to speed on how the requirements of the US Sunshine Act might affect the provision of medical writing/editing assistance to American doctors.

What about 2013?

Well it has started at a frenetic pace! I have been solidly booked since the beginning of the year and each project has been very different from the last – hopefully that is a trend that will continue throughout the year.

I’ve already attended the European ISMPP meeting as well as a workshop on social media for the pharma industry. I am looking forward to the annual EMWA meeting in the Spring, and am hoping to get to other events later in the year. I’m also looking forward to being a panellist at two workshops for new and would-be freelancers that are being held in March.

On the social media front, I feel that it is time to freshen up my website – it’s been up for a little over 2 years now, so a good time, I think, to have another look at the copy and the artwork. I’m still enjoying participating with Twitter and LinkedIn and, as I say every year, I will try to write more blogs!

To find out more about me and my medical writing work, please visit my website at www.freelancemedicalwriting.co.uk .

1 Comment

Filed under Editing and proofreading, Medical Writing

One response to “My freelance medical writing and editing work in 2012

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I
    came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this
    to my followers! Great blog and excellent design.

Leave a Reply

